Home > Campus Life > CAB serves up wings, trivia

CAB serves up wings, trivia

March 29, 2011

By Karen Rodriguez, Staff Writer

It was an evening of movie trivia fun, chicken wings and prizes as the Campus Activities Board, held its annual movie trivia night on Sun., March 20.

Students began shuffling in promptly at 7 p.m. As they filled up their bowls with chicken wings provided by Sodexo, they began selecting their teams for the trivia competition.  There was a turnout of about 20-25 people. Some came to participate, while others watched from the sidelines.

Mayeli Medina, a junior English major from Dalton said, “I thought it was a pretty good crowd. I didn’t participate, but I enjoyed watching other people show their competitive side while I ate wings. Plus, I feel like I learned a little bit of trivia myself.”

Trivia questions not only consisted of names of characters in movies starting as early as the 1970s, but also of actors and actresses starring in more recent films. Questions also included background knowledge of films, directors, cast members and Oscar-winning roles, from animated movies such as Babe and Toy Story to more mature movies such as Titanic.

Questions like “Who became Frances Bean Cobain’s godmother the same year she headlined in the film Poison Ivy?” or, “What title role in a 1995 Oscar-winning movie was played by more than 40 cast members?” had all teams shouting answers from the edge of their seats; however, some people enjoyed themselves more than others.

Brandon Engelskirchen, a junior theatre major from Jefferson said, “I enjoyed myself, fairly. It was disorganized; and for someone who enjoys trivia, there was no clear formal way to answer. And the question person was rude. Some questions were a challenge, but overall I knew the answers to a lot of them.”

At the end of the night Team One, which consisted of Engelskirchen, Ben March, Patch Defoor, Britt Davis and Antoine Saunders placed first with a total of 22 points.

Calle Wallace, social activities chair for CAB and a junior communication major from Hiawassee said, “I think it was a great event and I hope everyone had a good time.”
This post copyedited on April 18, 2011.

Categories: Campus Life
