Home > Campus Life > Future globe trekker

Future globe trekker

November 15, 2010

By Christelle Vereb, Staff Writer

Blaschke would like to travel to Italy, Australia and Bali, India. Photo by Skye Butler

A native of Athens, freshman Molly Blaschke chose to come to Young Harris College because of the number of students in classes and because of the beautiful campus.

Though an undecided on her major, Blaschke hopes to decide the occupation she desires to pursue in the coming months.

“I want to live in New York City for a couple of years. I also want to be successful; and therefore, I know I am going to need a decent job.”

Blaschke would also like to travel to Italy, Australia and Bali, India.

“The Movie Eat, Pray, Love has inspired me to want to re-invent myself through traveling and understanding other cultures,” Blaschke said.

Blaschke is involved with numerous activities on campus such as Bible study and Third World First.

Along with being involved in these activities, Blaschke is also eager for the return of basketball on campus.

Blaschke said, “I also cannot wait for basketball season to begin.”

When she is not doing school work or participating in campus activities, Blaschke can be found shopping, having fun with friends or catching up with old friends on Facebook.

“I love my friends. We spend lots of time together, and I also love my roommate, Erica Brooks. She is my alarm clock,” joked Blaschke.

Born on December 6, 1991, Blaschke cites her most interesting memory as a day she ended up in the hospital from playing in a fountain.

“Last spring break, a friend and I decided to go spend the day in Madison. The day was so pretty and we were having a great time. Then I saw a fountain that I decided I wanted to walk in,” Blaschke said. “I got in and started walking without paying attention. I ended up stepping on broken glass. It was horrible! I walked out saying it hurt; [but] my friend thought I was joking, until he saw blood spewing from my foot. A woman passing by used her son’s polo to tie around my foot to stop the bleeding. Then I had to go to the hospital for it. It was a most interesting day.”

Despite this minor setback Blaschke continues to have aspirations of being a successful woman. As motivation, she remembers a quote by Benjamin Franklin.

“Do the best with what you have and where you are.”

 

Categories: Campus Life Tags: , , , , ,
