Home > Opinions > Alcohol.edu=hangover

Alcohol.edu=hangover

November 10, 2010

Photo by Ashton Jones

By Holly Meyer, Staff Writer

If you’re a freshman this year, then you have taken the Alcohol Edu course for college students.  As we all know the online course is mandatory and must be completed in order to register for classes. The program is meant to educate students about consumption of alcohol. The course also gives a number of little quizzes to test you on your general knowledge about alcohol consumption.

After only a few days of my first semester did I hear other freshman complaining about having to take the online course.  No one that I came across found Alcohol Edu to be even be necessary; and, honestly, I feel the same way. About halfway through the semester I received an e-mail telling me that there was a second part to the Alcohol Edu program.

Now, I don’t know about anyone else, but I was not aware that I had to spend another hour on the course. This was in addition to the two hours I spent completing the first section of the program at the beginning of the year. I wasn’t jumping for joy to say the least.

The second portion of the course was due around the same time that mid-terms were going on. We were all drinking large amounts of coffee, not sleeping and studying for tests. So, naturally, I forgot to complete the second part of the program. As a result, I’m now being charged a $25 fine for not completing it. Excuse me? Why do I owe you money?! If this fine is meant to be an incentive to make me finish and so you won’t fine me yet again, then you have failed. Instead, you have only succeeded in making me angry.

I am terribly sorry, but I do not find this in any way fair. How can we be expected to find time in our already busy schedules to devote another hour to something that is already agonizingly aggravating? Between studying, working on papers and doing all of our extracurricular activities, any free time that is left over is a luxury. An hour doesn’t seem like much, but to a college student, every hour is precious.

Alcohol Edu irritated me for several reasons. First, the fact that after I had voiced my opinion about the ridiculousness of the program, I was informed very sternly and almost threateningly that if I did not complete the program I could not attend Young Harris College. It was just that simple. So I bit my tongue, swallowed my pride and began taking the program.

This is when I started to become very frustrated.The program attempts to gather an idea of how much you drink, after extensive survey questions. These are redundant and repetitive. They ask the same question over and over, but are just word it differently.  After talking with several other freshmen about the surveys, they all say that the program assumed that they all drank like fish, which in most cases was incorrect.

Aside from the endless survey questions, there are little educational videos put together by ‘other college students’ to inform YHC college students about alcohol. After the first 10 minutes, I already felt like my intelligence was being insulted; and, I wanted to do nothing more than to punch my computer screen. Any person with common sense could take the final test in this course. I really just don’t see the point of Alcohol Edu.

Categories: Opinions Tags: , ,
