Home > Campus Life > Heath burns for music at YHC

Heath burns for music at YHC

November 6, 2010

By Christelle Vereb, Staff Writer

Heath Burnett is a musical theatre major from Ellijay. Photo by Jacob Stone

A native of Ellijay, Heath Burnett strives to be an inspiration to all he meets.

“When I was born, my dad walked out of the room shaking his head,” said Burnett. “He told my Aunt Mellissa, ‘he was born missing a right arm.’ The feeling in the room was sober until my Aunt said, ‘Wait a minute. This boy was born on Elvis Presley’s birthday. He is going to be a star! You should be excited!’”

Burnett strives to be the best that he can be at everything he does.

“My goal in life is to be inspiring to people, to show them that no matter the circumstances they should keep going,” Burnett said.

When he was growing up, Burnett had a hard time adjusting to not having his arm. But as he got older, he realized that he has been blessed just the way he is.

“You don’t miss something you never had; I wouldn’t know what to do with another arm,” Burnett said.

Burnett was raised with a musical family; therefore he has always surrounded himself with music. A freshman at Young Harris College, he is majoring in musical theater and has written some songs of his own.

“When I was younger, I saw my cousin playing the guitar. I wished I could play as well; but I never thought it was possible, because I could not hold a pick.  Then one day I just picked the guitar up and ran my nub over it. It made a sound! From then on I realized that God had built my pick into my arm,” Burnett said.

Burnett likes playing folk music and would love to learn to play blues sometime in the future. Along with enjoying a wide variety of music he also can play the upright base,the bongos and the guitar.

Despite the obstacles life has thrown him, he remains positive.

“In everything I do I pick the path less traveled, and I find my way,” Burnett said.

Categories: Campus Life Tags: , , ,
