Home > Campus Life > Freshman, fresh face

Freshman, fresh face

September 30, 2010

By Christelle Vereb, Staff Writer

David Atwood is a freshman from Waynesville, N.C. Although an undecided major, he has aspirations of becoming a biologist.

One of the newest members of the Young Harris College men’s baseball team is David Atwood.  A native of Waynesville, N.C., he is a member of the freshman class.

“I came to Young Harris because I wanted to attend a college that could provide me with many opportunities. I prefer the small-school environment, as well as the setting in the north Georgia mountains” Atwood said.

Atwood believes that the small-school environment has given him an opportunity to get to know many new people, especially his baseball teammates.

With a wide smile he said, “I also came to Young Harris College to help Sean Kelly to feel younger; I want to help him improve his Tiger Woods PGA Tour skills.”

Atwood, a resident of Winship Hall, said, “It’s really cool living with five other baseball players!”  Atwood is  an undeclared major, but romances the idea of becoming a biologist.

Even though he is still deciding on his major, his academic goals are clear. Atwood said,  “I hope to reach a 3.5 GPA, and I hope to have the proper knowledge to attend grad school.”

In order to achieve his goals Atwood is motivated by this Bible verse found in Isaiah 40:31, “But those who hope in the Lord shall renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Besides baseball, Atwood’s favorite sport is wrestling.  He cites his favorite memory as winning state wrestling his senior year at Tuscola High School.

When Atwood is not playing baseball he can be found fishing, another one of his favorite hobbies.  He also enjoys listening to music.  “As far as music goes, I like Eminem, Lupe Fiasco and the Foo fighters,” says Atwood.

In his free time he enjoys watching his two favorite movies Anchorman, and I Love You, Man.

Atwood likes the  Atlanta Braves and the Indianapolis Colts.  Watching these teams brings back family memories.

“I have grown up watching football and baseball with my older brother, dad and granddad; it’s a family tradition,” Atwood said. “I look forward to doing well in my academics, improving my baseball skills and having a great year overall.”

Categories: Campus Life
