Home > Campus Life > CAB raises awareness on texting and driving

CAB raises awareness on texting and driving

September 12, 2010

Dillon Sutherland, Staff Writer

On August 31,the Campus Activity Board or CAB hosted an “Hang up and Drive” on the Plaza to raise awareness about the dangers of texting while driving. CAB hoped the event would persuade many Young Harris College students to put the phone down while behind the wheel.

At the plaza the YHC Police Department set up a driving obstacle course where students would go through once while just driving, and then again while texting at the same time. Many students attempted the course and results varied, although most failed at the texting and driving part.

If the student failed, the student had to sign a large sign stating, “I pledge that I will not text and drive.” After signing the statement, students then painted their hands red and put their handprint on a large banner. The red hand print symbolized the blood on their hands from driving while texting. . Along with an obstacle course, CAB provided a slideshow presentation through a projector. The presentation went through the facts and statistics about the dangers of texting and driving.

This event caught the attention of several YHC students. “We’re just trying to spread awareness,” said CAB member and coordinator of the event, Courtney Caron, a sophomore communication major. “We value all Young Harris students. We want all students to be here as long as they can and to prevent accidents.”

The obstacle course demonstrated to several students the potential dangers of texting and driving. Many students were compelled to take the pledge.

“I hit about twelve cones,” said Dontavious Scott, a freshman music theatre major, “I think it’s pretty fascinating because I can’t drive. I found out I can’t text and drive either. I definitely think it helped raise awareness.”

On July 1 Georgia passed a new texting and driving law.  This law prohibits sending texts, receiving texts and reading texts, while operating a motor vehicle. Consequences include a $150 dollar fine and one point on your driver’s license. Some

Students believed that the “Hang up and drive” event helped bring the attention to the new law and let them experience the risks involved.

“I really liked the event,” said Kelly Bryson, a freshman biology major, “I personally don’t text and drive. I’ve lost a couple friends in texting and driving accidents. I’m glad that the campus is trying to reach out and raise awareness; and plus, I get to drive a police vehicle. I’d also like to see a drinking and driving one.”

Categories: Campus Life Tags: , ,
